fashion

Paris Journal: Day 2 (May 23rd)

When I woke up this morning, I was so tired. To be honest, I probably could have slept all day today. But at 9am sharp, I had to be at the Paris American Academy for my French lesson. (Actually 8:50, because “on time is late”). We started the day off with a basic French language session led by one of the instructors at the Academy, Agnes.

After that, we met with a miraculous woman by the name of Madame Picco. She worked as one of the courtiers for Madame Gres, who revolutionized dress making by creating pleating techniques. Madame Gres has passed away, but Madame Picco continues to carry on her legacy by sharing her story. Madame Gres worked hard to achieve her high status in the haute couture world, and even when others doubted her, her husband left her, and the Nazis shut down her shop, she stayed true to herself and the vision of her brand.

picco

Some of Madame Picco’s handmade dresses. Each dress could take up to 300 hours to make!

After a short lunch break, we headed to our six hour pleating workshop with Madame Picco. As a fashion merchandising student, sewing is not my favorite. I respect and appreciate the art of hand sewing, but I do not enjoy doing it myself. However, I was being instructed by masters of haute couture, so I decided I would just go in with an open mind and absorb all of the information that I could. The day was intense, and was very challenging for me, because I have not sewn in years. However, it was very reassuring to see that the instructors, especially Madame Picco, really truly wanted me to succeed, and my techniques to be perfect. Coming from a true master, I really valued Madame Picco’s critiques.

After class, we bought dinner from a local market and walked to the Siene River, where we picnicked. Unfortunately, my camera was dropped in the River, which was a real bummer (its soaking in rice currently.) Besides that, it was a lovely night to walk around and sit by the water. It is so fascinating to see what the Parisians are wearing just walking around the town. I am still shocked that I am actually here and this is dream is coming true.

Tomorrow, we meet again for class with Madame Picco at 10am, and I am beyond excited to get up and get started again in the morning!

2.jpg

Enjoying all the sights by the river!

 

Leave a comment