fashion

Paris Journal: Day 6 (May 27)

Some students from Mexico joined us today and it was so nice to meet them all and have class alongside them. I feel like I am finally starting to get the hang of French, and I feel more comfortable talking to people when I am shopping or ordering food.

We then went to the open air market, where we bought food to have a picnic at the academy. It was very similar to a farmer’s market at home, except there were all sorts of homemade cheese, meats, and baked goods. It was very neat to see everyone out and about, and the food was all ridiculously fresh.

After that, we got on a bus and headed to the Perfume Museum. We learned about the history of perfume, and how it used to be used for healing. We then were able to smell a ton of different scents, and even take a scent quiz to determine if we could properly identify smells. Although the combination of different scents was a bit overwhelming and gave me a slight headache, the museum was really interesting and I would highly recommend it.

After the museum, we went off on our own again to vintage shops. A couple of the girls found some really cool things, but I just enjoyed looking. It is so interesting to me to find articles of clothing that were popular ten or twenty years ago. We even found a University of Michigan sweatshirt, and it was funny that it was considered “vintage”. Overall, it was an amazing day!OIEX2258.jpg

Flowers at the Open Air Market

IMG_0758.JPG

The Perfume Museum

Leave a comment